Video game review: Far Cry 3

far cry 3

As an open world adventure game, Far Cry 3 is a lush, tropical paradise. It’s brought to life with animals roaming the countryside, pirates who’ve taken over local camps and a cast of characters that create a vast and populated environment.

But it comes with its problems: the looting system is dodgy, autosave and spawning are unpredictable, and some of the character development was unrefined. However, despite these flaws, Ubisoft has created a quality game.

Storyline:

You play as protagonist Jason Brody. You’re on vacation with a handful of over-privileged friends on a tropical island when things go wrong. And things go wrong fast – your friends are kidnapped by a pirate named Vaas and you must scour the island to rescue them.

But Far Cry 3 is more than a “search and rescue” narrative. It’s an evolving journey of self discovery that pushes man’s emotional and mental limits. Jason is forced to take on a role that he clearly isn’t ready for, and that’s what makes things interesting.

You could feel his insecurities in his voice. But as Jason grew, I wanted more strength and confidence in his voice. It felt a little disjointed later in the campaign.

The story takes some psychedelic twists and turns that give it a uniqueness that’s fun and attractive. The overall story can feel a little stereotypical and far-fetched, but remains entertaining throughout.

Gameplay:

farcry3-crafting-edit
Crafting system in Far Cry 3

Far Cry 3 is an open world, action/adventure, first-person shooter with RPG elements to add depth and variety. Experience points let you build a skill tree with new and exciting techniques. For example, the Heron skill set allows for mobility, speed, and takedowns; the Shark skill set improves healing and combat; and the Spider skill set develops stealth, takedown variations, and survival techniques.

You can choose a well-rounded path or compliment your own combat style by concentrating on a specific skill set. As you move through the map, you unlock new territory by climbing radio towers, which also help get free weapons from depots. Weapon selection can be integrated with your prefered combat technique, as can weapon attachments. Bows for extreme stealth, extended magazines for more readily available ammo, and sniper rifles for long distance attacks.

farcry3-radio-tower
Radio tower in Far Cry 3

Unlocking the radio towers also reveals items on the map like treasure chests with cash, new missions delivering medicine to different camps, and hunting grounds to kill animals and craft different sacks to carry more ammo, inventory, and syringes. You collect red, blue, green, and yellow herbs for crafting syringes for medicine, heightened senses, and increased hunting ability.

Overall:

You can rush through the campaign and complete the story in approximately 30 hrs or so, but you’d miss the wonderful things Far Cry 3 has to offer. Take your time and unlock as many radio towers as you can; it means unlocking the map and exploring new terrain, liberating pirate camps by experimenting with different strategies, and taming the wildlife that surrounds you.

Despite some of its technical flaws, Far Cry 3 is an excellent game that will keep you busy for many hours. Check it out, play through the campaign and let me know if you agree!

Already played Far Cry 3?  Have a different opinion?  I’d love to hear it!  Comment below and tell me what you think.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Really loved this game. My favorite part was liberating the enemy camps. Just so many options on how to approach them. I’m hoping the next Far Cry game is in a snowy environment. Would be cool.

    1. Grady Meston says:

      I love snowy environments. Latest one I enjoyed was The Last of Us. Another one was a classic, Syphon Filter 2 (I think!) for PS1.

      Liberating camps was definitely awesome. Admittedly, I died a lot, but it gave me the opportunity to try different strategies

  2. khinjarsi says:

    I have very mixed opinions on Far Cry 3. For me it went from being great, different and fun for the first third-half, then dull and repetitive for the remainder. I posted about it on my blog, but thought I’d share anyway.

    1. Grady Meston says:

      Thanks for commenting!

      You raise a good point. I came to a time in the game when I started to motor through the main storyline to finish it. Sometimes I attribute that to my own impatience, so I’m never sure how to comment on it.

      1. khinjarsi says:

        I’m not sure if you wanted a reply but I feel that there’s a limit to which a player can say ‘oh it’s my fault I’m not enjoying it’, especially with plot lines. There’s been many games with plots I didnt enjoy but I felt with Far Cry this was less my opinion and more of it became a dragged out plot. But that’s just my view of it.

Leave a Reply

