Battle your fear

What are you afraid of?

Right now, I’m afraid to write this post. I have an irrational fear of getting my thoughts on paper (or on-screen), because I’m scared the first draft won’t be perfect. But that’s just it – the first draft isn’t suppposed to be perfect. And that’s the thing about writing.

One of my favourite quotes is from the famous American sportswriter, Red Smith;

There’s nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and open a vein.

That’s all it is, Red?  Bloodletting? Just open ‘er up and dump it out, eh?  Well, once you open that vein, your blood is more like ink soaking into the page. And that blank page, before it’s soaked with your inky blood, can be a real bitch.

I believe it was Earnest Hemingway who once anointed that blank page as the “white rhinoceros”. I couldn’t agree more. At times, I’m sure wrestling a white rhinoceros would be less painful. But once you get going, it’s more like a reeling in a fish – you know what you want, you’ve got your line on it, but you still have work  to do before you can eat. It’s magical and frustrating at the same time.

One of my favourite blogs is copyblogger. It’s a fantastic resource for everything to do with copywriting and content marketing – and it’s done right.  I recently come across a mantra on copyblogger that I hope will help cure my fear of writing something every day (even if it’s crap!):

Write
Write more
Write even more
Write more even if you don’t want to
Write more if you do want to
Write more
Keep writing

I hope this will inspire me when I’m scared that what I produce will suck.

I urge you to find something that helps you overcome your fears. Whatever they may be.

Leave a Reply

